Thomas Sautner

Last updated

Thomas Sautner
Born1970
Gmünd, Lower Austria
OccupationWriter, painter
Nationality Austrian
PeriodContemporary
Notable worksFuchserde

Thomas Sautner (born 1970 in Gmünd, Lower Austria) is an Austrian painter and writer.

Contents

Biography

Thomas Sautner studied political science, communication and contemporary history. Then he worked as journalist. Sautner is a painter and a novelist. In his novels he writes about the life and the culture of the Yeniche people. He lives and works in the northern Waldviertel of Austria and in Vienna.

Sautner's first two novels, published in 2006 and 2007, dive into the world of the Yeniche people. Reviewer Eva Riebler of the Austrian literary magazine Etcetera pinpoints to the author's intention to "save the wisdom of the Yeniche people", even comparing the first book to The Little Prince of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. [1] In Austria, Sautner's books are regarded as bestsellers. [2]

Works

Related Research Articles

Erich Kästner German author, poet, screenwriter and satirist

Emil Erich Kästner was a German author, poet, screenwriter and satirist, known primarily for his humorous, socially astute poems and for children's books including Emil and the Detectives. He received the international Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 1960 for his autobiography Als ich ein kleiner Junge war. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature four times.

Robert Menasse Austrian writer

Robert Menasse is an Austrian writer.

Franzobel

Franzobel is the pseudonym of the Austrian writer (Franz) Stefan Griebl. He was born on 1 March 1967 in Vöcklabruck. In 1997 he won the Wolfgang Weyrauch Prize and in 1998, the Kassel Literary Prize, amongst numerous other literary awards. In 2017 he won the prestigious Nicolas Born Prize and was long-listed for the German Book Prize for his novel, Das Floß der Medusa. He now lives in Vienna.

Franz Schuh (writer)

Franz Schuh is an Austrian novelist, literary critic and, above all, essayist in the tradition of Karl Kraus and Alfred Polgar. Schuh was born, and lives, in Vienna, where, just like his predecessors, he prefers to write in one of the traditional coffeehouses.

Andreas Latzko

Andreas Latzko was an Austro-Hungarian pacifist of Jewish origin, a novelist and biographer.

Klaus Ebner Austrian writer (born 1964)

Klaus Ebner is an Austrian writer, essayist, poet, and translator. Born and raised in Vienna, he began writing at an early age. He started submitting stories to magazines in the 1980s, and also published articles and books on software topics after 1989. Ebner's poetry is written in German and Catalan; he also translates French and Catalan literature into German. He is a member of several Austrian writers associations, including the Grazer Autorenversammlung.

The Austrian Writers' Association has been founded in 1945 and was thus one of the first Austrian professional associations after World War II. The association fosters the communication between writers and the contact between authors and readers and is located in Vienna, Austria. Sidonia Gall is chairman of the OESV.

Christine Werner is an Austrian writer. She is the author of dramas, literary cabaret, radio plays, net art, photographic art, poetry and narrative prose.

Alfred Polgar German essayist, theater critic, writer, translator

Alfred Polgar 17 October 1873, Vienna – 24 April 1955, Zurich) was an Austrian-born columnist, columnist, theater critic, writer and occasionally translator. All in all, he was one of the most important protagonists of the Wiener Moderne.

Manfred George, born Manfred Georg Cohn, later shortened to Manfred Georg, was a German journalist, author and translator. He left Germany after the Nazis came to power, living in several different European countries and eventually emigrating penniless to the United States in 1939. He became the editor of Aufbau, a periodical published in German, and transformed it from a small monthly newsletter into an important weekly newspaper, especially during World War II and the postwar era, when it became an important source of information for Jews trying to establish new lives and for Nazi concentration camp survivors to find each other. George remained Editor in Chief of Aufbau until his death.

Dimitré Dinev

Dimitré Dinev is a Bulgarian-born Austrian writer. He is best known for his play Kozha i nebe, which controversially won the Askeer prize in 2007.

Marie-Thérèse Kerschbaumer

Marie-Thérèse Kerschbaumer is an Austrian novelist and poet, one of the leading women prose writers in German. Her mainly fictional works present the horrors of Fascism, especially the repression of minorities.

Julya Rabinowich

Julya Rabinowich is an Austrian author, playwright, painter and translator. In 1977 her family emigrated to Vienna, a move in which she describes herself as having been “uprooted and re-potted.”

Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib, born 2 July 1966 in Leningrad, Russia, immigrated to Austria where he became a writer. His works, revolving around the themes of migration, Judaism, and identity, have been translated to Russian, Czech, Slovenian, and Italian.

Martin Horváth is an Austrian writer and musician currently living in Vienna.

Robert Schneider (writer) Austrian writer (born 1961)

Robert Schneider is an Austrian writer, who published novels including Schlafes Bruder, texts for the theatre, and poetry. His works have been translated to many languages. Schlafes Bruder became the basis of a film, a ballet, an opera and several plays, and received international awards. Schneider withdrew from writing in 2007.

Friedrich Porges (1890–1978) was an Austrian-American film director of the silent era, journalist, publisher, screenwriter, author and film critic. Of Jewish background, he fled Vienna just prior to the Anschluss of 1938 and emigrated to Britain and the United States.

Viktor Riemann was an Austrian author, commentator, journalist and politician (VdU). He sat as a member of the "Nationalrat" between 1949 and 1956.

Teresa Präauer

Teresa Präauer is an Austrian writer and visual artist.

Arthur Ernst Rutra

Arthur Ernst Rutra, born Samuely, was a leading Austrian Expressionist playwright and author. He was also a publisher and journalist. He was born on 18 September 1892 in Lemberg in Austria-Hungary now Ukraine and died on 9 October 1942 in the Maly Trostinets extermination camp near Minsk.

References

  1. Eva Riebler: Critical review of "Fuchserde".
  2. See the article on Thomas Sautner's third novel in the newspaper Gmündner Zeitung